HAP Bacani


Lawyer Benedicto Bacani, founding and current executive director of Institute for Autonomy and Governance (IAG), is the new president of Hubert H. Humphrey Alumni Philippines. He will serve from 1 March 2023 until 28 February 2025.


Elected alongside Atty. Bacani are Atty. YB Balato, Vice President; Atty. Darlene Pajarito, Secretary; Atty. Tanya Recalde, Treasurer; Col. Rommel Miranda, P.R.O.; Aleem Guiapal, Director; and Judge James Sy, Director.


The association brings together the Filipino community of Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program Alumni.


Established in honor of the late U.S. Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey, the Humphrey Program provides a year of professional enrichment in the United States for experienced Filipino professionals. The program develops leaders who will have “multiplier effect” on their society.


Founded in 2001 in Cotabato City, Philippines, IAG implements a broad portfolio of programs that are centered on the promotion of democracy, rule of law, human rights and pluralism as the foundation of sustainable peace and development. IAG programs operate in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao and the Cordillera Administrative Region.